Arthur Murch entered many portraits in the Archibald Prize. His first entry was in 1928; his last in 1969. At his fifteenth try, in 1949, he won the prize with his portrait of Bonar Dunlop.


Bonar Dunlop

oil on masonite 104 x 73 cm

Winner of the Archibald Prize 1949


Bonar Dunlop was a sculptor who had attended Murch’s sculpture classes at East Sydney Technical College. It was Murch’s tenth entry in the Archibald. View the Cinesound Newsreel of the 1949 Archibald Prize.

Other portraits that Murch entered into the Archibald:

1928: Senior Chaplain James Green C.M.G., V.D.

1930: John D. Moore Esq.

1931: E. A. Harvey Esq.

1934: Professor Whitridge Davies

1935: 3 entries – Miss Suzanne Crookston, Cav. A. Dattilo Rubbo, Miss Lelia Suleau

1940: Richard Windeyer , Esq. K.C


Identified in 2020, this oil painting on a coarse weave cotton, is 96 cms H x 76 cms W. Arthur Murch was a friend of Windeyer and would go yachting with him. Murch estate.

1941: 3 entries – Mr Frank Lumb, Mrs. A. Murch, James Cook

1942: Rev. Canon A. H. Garnsey

1943: Kenneth Wilkinson

1944: 2 entries – Stephen Stack, Self Portrait

1946: Professor Robert Dicks

1949: 2 entries – Bonar Dunlop,  Self Portrait


Self Portrait 1949 oil on masonite 86 x 68 cm

1950: George Wallace


George Wallace oil on board 100.5 x 81cms Rockhampton Art Gallery

1951: G. K. Townshend – See Manly Art Gallery and Museum Collection

1952: 2 entries – Dr. P. C. Charlton, Mrs C. E. Martin

1953: Douglas Stewart

1954: John Santry – See Manly Art Gallery and Museum Collection

1955: 2 entries – Mr Neville Fortescue, Mrs A. Brentnall

1958: Mr T. E. L McGuire

1959: Self portrait

1963: Professor Sir Mark Oliphant KBE FRS

1964: Rubina Namatjira


1965: David Schlunke

1966: Alan Ingham

1969: Alexander Cann